DELL-XPS9350: Stuck at "IntelFBClientControl" and "AppleIntelFramebuffer"


Headknockr

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Dell XPS-9350
CPU
i7-6560U
Graphics
Intel HD540 (Iris)
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello,
I think I'm finally at the best place to describe my issues. Love the XenForo-Software and the general style of this forum. :cool:(y)

So I've bought a Dell XPS13 (9350) Notebook which has the following specs:
  • FHD-Display (1920*1080edited, see post #5)
  • i7-6560U (therefore an Intel Iris HD540 Graphicchip)
  • 8GB DDR3 RAM
  • M.2 SSD from Toshiba
  • and a Broadcom WiFi-Adapter
I'm using a Repo from GitHub (https://github.com/hackintosh-stuff/XPS9350-macOS) but also tried to create just a barebone USB-Stick using a Guide from RehabMan.

The Problem:

I've changed the SMBIOS to 13,1 to match my Specs a bit better.
Booting with enabled verbose-log outputs this:

busy timeout[0]: IntelFBClientControl

It loops three times until a new Error arrives:

newUser: waitQuietController failed: AppleIntelFramebuffer

This loops three times also. You can see the errors clearly in the attached Screenshot.

IMG_20190317_134831.jpg.124e4659c05d6a0e5cf540096bba1b1f.jpg

So what have I tried so far?

- I've changed the SMBIOS to 9,1; 11,1; 13,1 and 14,1
- Created a barebone Stick with no patches and only essential kexts. No luck either. Same error.
- Perform an EC-Reset
- Patch DVMT
- Using other Repos for the XPS9350, which all ended up being the same (error-wise)
- Tried with HighSierra and Mojave

But there's one more thing!
If I inject a Fake-ID (0x12345678)
and a (invalid)*-fake-platform-ID, the boot proccees gets past the FBClientControl-Error.

I'm able to move my mouse around the verbose log, which just stops at "gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0"
After this issue arrived nothing happend further, I can't get to the installer whatsoever.

Sometimes it boots past the verbose log until I see an Apple-Logo and a progress bar, which is 0% filled, but here as well: I'm able to move the mouse around but can't get any further from here.
You can see that in the second Image I've uploaded:
IMG_20190315_231657.jpg

So where do I go from here? Seems like nobody got a solution (I've tried to describe my issue on many other platforms as well), which really makes me sad - I really want this puppy to run! :cry:

Any help and advice is appreciated, my English might not be the best.
Thank you all very much! :giggle:
~Daniel


P.S: I'm not able to upload my EFI-Folder right now, since I'm not at home yet. But beside the SMBIOS which is 13,2 in the Repo (should be 13,1) it's exactly the same as from the repo linked above.
 
Last edited:

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
481
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello,
I think I'm finally at the best place to describe my issues. Love the XenForo-Software and the general style of this forum. :cool:(y)

So I've bought a Dell XPS13 (9350) Notebook which has the following specs:
  • FHD-Display (1080*1920)
  • i7-6560U (therefore an Intel Iris HD540 Graphicchip)
  • 8GB DDR3 RAM
  • M.2 SSD from Toshiba
  • and a Broadcom WiFi-Adapter
I'm using a Repo from GitHub (https://github.com/hackintosh-stuff/XPS9350-macOS) but also tried to create just a barebone USB-Stick using a Guide from RehabMan.

The Problem:

I've changed the SMBIOS to 13,1 to match my Specs a bit better.
Booting with enabled verbose-log outputs this:

busy timeout[0]: IntelFBClientControl

It loops three times until a new Error arrives:

newUser: waitQuietController failed: AppleIntelFramebuffer

This loops three times also. You can see the errors clearly in the attached Screenshot.

View attachment 1606

So what have I tried so far?

- I've changed the SMBIOS to 9,1; 11,1; 13,1 and 14,1
- Created a barebone Stick with no patches and only essential kexts. No luck either. Same error.
- Perform an EC-Reset
- Patch DVMT
- Using other Repos for the XPS9350, which all ended up being the same (error-wise)
- Tried with HighSierra and Mojave

But there's one more thing!
If I inject a Fake-ID (0x12345678)
and a invalid*-fake-platform-ID it brings me past the FBClientControl-Error.

I'm able to move my mouse around the verbose log, which just stops at "gIOScreenLockState 3, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0"
After that nothing happens, I can't get to the installer whatsoever.
Sometimes it boots past the verbose log until I see an Apple-Logo and a progress bar which is 0% filled but here as well: I'm able to move the mouse around.
You can see that in the second Image I've uploaded:
View attachment 1607

So where do I go from here? Seems like nobody got a solution (I've tried to describe my issue on many other platforms as well), which really makes me sad - I really want this puppy to run! :cry:

Any help and advice is appreciated, my English might not be the best.
Thank you all very much! :giggle:
~Daniel


P.S: I'm not able to upload my EFI-Folder right now, since I'm not at home yet. But beside the SMBIOS which is 13,2 in the Repo (should be 13,1) it's exactly the same as from the repo linked above.
These issues are common with the 4K/UHD Laptops. For the 4K/UHD Laptop variants, there are couple of requirements. You need to unlock the pixel clock to run into 4K/UHD mode otherwise it will not be booted, only with a invalid ig-platform-id. Using a invalid Fake ID defeats the purpose.

Attach the Clover folder when possible. I'll guide you through it. I've already done a installation on this Laptop and it works like a charm.
 

Headknockr

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Dell XPS-9350
CPU
i7-6560U
Graphics
Intel HD540 (Iris)
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
Android
These issues are common with the 4K/UHD Laptops. For the 4K/UHD Laptop variants, there are couple of requirements. You need to unlock the pixel clock to run into 4K/UHD mode otherwise it will not be booted, only with a invalid ig-platform-id. Using a invalid Fake ID defeats the purpose.

Attach the Clover folder when possible. I'll guide you through it. I've already done a installation on this Laptop and it works like a charm.
Woah, that's a relief!
I've got the FHD Version, not the 4K/UHD Variant. Does that change anything?
A huge Thank you already! 😍
I will upload the Folder around 00:00h (German time) ☺
 
  • Like
Reactions: EliteMacx86

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
481
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Woah, that's a relief!
I've got the FHD Version, not the 4K/UHD Variant. Does that change anything?
A huge Thank you already! 😍
I will upload the Folder around 00:00h (German time) ☺
Waiting for the Clover folder to investigate. :cool:
Check in Windows for the resolution to be sure.
 

Headknockr

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Dell XPS-9350
CPU
i7-6560U
Graphics
Intel HD540 (Iris)
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
Android
Waiting for the Clover folder to investigate. :cool:
Check in Windows for the resolution to be sure.
Okay, so here it is! ;)
I don't know if there is something that needs to be done regarding FrameBuffer Patching using WhatEverGreen, because I wasn't able to figure that one out...
I've checked the resolution in Windows, as well as in the BIOS, which both state 1920*1080 (screwed them up in the first post).

Cheers :coffee::giggle:
 

Attachments

Last edited:

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
481
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Okay, so here it is! ;)
I don't know if there is something that needs to be done regarding FrameBuffer Patching using WhatEverGreen, because I wasn't able to figure that one out...
I've checked the resolution in Windows, as well as in the BIOS, which both state 1920*1080 (screwed them up in the first post).

Cheers :coffee::giggle:
The Clover folder is mess. Like i expected.
You need to put some efforts and you'll definitely have joy and we're here to help.

Start from here: https://www.elitemacx86.com/threads/guide-how-to-boot-macos-installer-on-laptops-using-clover-uefi-legacy.177/
And you should be in action.
 

Headknockr

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Dell XPS-9350
CPU
i7-6560U
Graphics
Intel HD540 (Iris)
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
Android
The Clover folder is mess. Like i expected.
You need to put some efforts and you'll definitely have joy and we're here to help.

Start from here: https://www.elitemacx86.com/threads/guide-how-to-boot-macos-installer-on-laptops-using-clover-uefi-legacy.177/
And you should be in action.
Sure, I mostly did that already... but I discarded it for whatever reasons. You might wanna say I was frustrated. :D

I will do that one again later today, thanks in advance! ;)

Edit: I actually got it, was still laying on my Harddrive. @EliteMacx86
 

Attachments

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
481
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Sure, I mostly did that already... but I discarded it for whatever reasons. You might wanna say I was frustrated. :D

I will do that one again later today, thanks in advance! ;)

Edit: I actually got it, was still laying on my Harddrive. @EliteMacx86
Update the Clover to the latest version. The config.plist file is not correct for the system. Use config_HD515_520_530_540.plist. Remove ATI and NVIDIA Properties from the Devices section.
Uncheck Inject ATI and NVIDIA from the Graphics section.

Edit: Remove AirportBrcmFixup.kext from Other folder.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Headknockr

Headknockr

New member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
8
Motherboard
Dell XPS-9350
CPU
i7-6560U
Graphics
Intel HD540 (Iris)
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mobile Phone
Android
Update the Clover to the latest version. The config.plist file is not correct for the system. Use config_HD515_520_530_540.plist. Remove ATI and NVIDIA Properties from the Devices section.
Uncheck Inject ATI and NVIDIA from the Graphics section.

Edit: Remove AirportBrcmFixup.kext from Other folder.
Attached you can find the latest Clover-Folder I've created using this Guide: https://www.elitemacx86.com/threads/guide-how-to-boot-macos-installer-on-laptops-using-clover-uefi-legacy.177/

I need to include the AirportBrcmFixup, since i got a Broadcom WiFi-Card. It won't boot without it.
I've changed the config.plist to the one you mentioned and unchecked everything you've said.
Thanks for that already! :)

The issue still persists, but I guess you kinda expected that ;)
 

Attachments

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
481
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.14.6
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Attached you can find the latest Clover-Folder I've created using this Guide: https://www.elitemacx86.com/threads/guide-how-to-boot-macos-installer-on-laptops-using-clover-uefi-legacy.177/

I need to include the AirportBrcmFixup, since i got a Broadcom WiFi-Card. It won't boot without it.
I've changed the config.plist to the one you mentioned and unchecked everything you've said.
Thanks for that already! :)

The issue still persists, but I guess you kinda expected that ;)
The configuration is upto the mark. I would need to check the BIOS setting you've configured and the Verbose log. Also, i suggest you to not use the AirportBrcmFixup before the installation. And still i doubt it's 1080p. I've already installed Mojave on the same laptop for a friend and it's QHD (3200x1800). Check the screen resolution in Windows and attach a screenshot from the drop down list.