[Fix] Audio Distortion when using Headphones on Laptops

echoo

New member
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Motherboard
Laptop
CPU
I5
Graphics
HD5500
OS X/macOS
10.12.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, it's supported.
Thanks! It works! But how can we run the script before we login our account? Do you have any idea?
Thanks again! :)
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS

echoo

New member
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Motherboard
Laptop
CPU
I5
Graphics
HD5500
OS X/macOS
10.12.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Cool.

Before login may not work. But at the start, it can work. Check for the instructions for automatic execution.
Thank you! I will have a try!
 
  • Like
Reactions: EliteMacx86

echoo

New member
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Motherboard
Laptop
CPU
I5
Graphics
HD5500
OS X/macOS
10.12.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
We can go to the terminal settings and open quit the terminal when the shell is executed. And the window will be closed, I like this way.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
We can go to the terminal settings and open quit the terminal when the shell is executed. And the window will be closed, I like this way.
But this is manual. So why not simply execute the script and it will be executed and simply close it?
 

gius0161

New member
Joined
Aug 29, 2019
Motherboard
MSI-PS63
CPU
i7-8650U
Graphics
UHD620 - GTX 1050 max-q (disabled)
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi, thanks for the time and for this guide...but for me doesn't working. My headphone audio is still distorted.
All information are in the Attach file for problem reporting. I hope it can be useful to solve the problem.

My Laptop specs: MSI PS63 with i7 8650U and UHD620 (ALC298). All working well except headphone audio and HDMI output. I've installed all my kexts in L/E, I've got only CodecCommander in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/others


wow :ROFLMAO: it's semi-fixed installing ALCplugfix


sometimes return distorted but if I unplug the headphone jack and re-insert it, it works again
 

Attachments

Last edited:

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi, thanks for the time and for this guide...but for me doesn't working. My headphone audio is still distorted.
All information are in the Attach file for problem reporting. I hope it can be useful to solve the problem.

My Laptop specs: MSI PS63 with i7 8650U and UHD620 (ALC298). All working well except headphone audio and HDMI output. I've installed all my kexts in L/E, I've got only CodecCommander in EFI/CLOVER/kexts/others


wow :ROFLMAO: it's semi-fixed installing ALCplugfix


sometimes return distorted but if I unplug the headphone jack and re-insert it, it works again
You've duplicate devices address for the Graphics and Audio. Remove other and use only one.
Inject Intel must be unchecked
MBP15,2 is a poor choice for this hardware. Use MBP14,1
ACI is not patched correctly. You cannot expect several things to be working. Follow the guide here: https://www.elitemacx86.com/threads/guide-how-to-patch-laptop-dsdt-and-ssdts.178/
Your kexts must be installed in EFI/Clover/Kext/Other
FakePCIID kexts should be removed.
Install latest Lilu+WEG+AppleALC and use layout ID=29

Reply with new set of PR files.
 

JuanVC

New member
Joined
Jan 15, 2020
Motherboard
Intel Chipset - HM370
CPU
i7-8750H
Graphics
UHD630 + GTX 1070 MQ
OS X/macOS
11.0 (Beta)
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
Mac Pro, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is there anyway to make this solution work without CodecCommander? AppleALC is supposed to have CodecCommander built in and I sometimes boot without audio, I fear it is caused by having CodecCommander twice as per AppleALC installation guide they recommend to remove CodecCommander. The solution works great! But I sometimes have that issue that I boot with no audio. I did tried only removing CodecCommander to check if that did it but sadly i booted with jack distortion.
 

EliteMacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z370 AROUS GAMING 3
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Graphics
2xAMD RX 580 8GB
OS X/macOS
10.15.x
Bootloader
Clover (UEFI)
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Is there anyway to make this solution work without CodecCommander?
Unfortunately, not. The guide requires CodecCommander.
AppleALC is supposed to have CodecCommander built in
Are you sure? As per my knowledge, i don't think AppleALC is having CodecCommander or something similar bundled.
I sometimes boot without audio
What Audio Codec?
I fear it is caused by having CodecCommander twice as per AppleALC installation guide they recommend to remove CodecCommander.
No, the CodecCommander is definitely not the cause. On some Audio codec on some hardware, such as ALC295, ALC256, has no audio after boot. This is very common. Can you link where the installation guide it says to remove CodecCommander?
The solution works great!
Yes, the fix works like a charm.
But I sometimes have that issue that I boot with no audio.
No PR files attached. No Codec info mentioned. Like i mentioned earlier, there are some audio codec, on some hardware this issue is very normal.
I did tried only removing CodecCommander to check if that did it but sadly i booted with jack distortion.
Yes, CodecCommander is must.
 

SniperBuddy

New member
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Motherboard
Acer Aspire E5-575
CPU
Intel Core i5 7200U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 620/NVIDIA Geforce 940MX
OS X/macOS
11.0 (Beta)
Bootloader
OpenCore
Mobile Phone
Android
@EliteMacx86 I've copied the Codec Commander's kext folder in the Opencore's kext folder.
But I'm unable to copy the hda-verb file in usr/bin because I'm getting this error of read only file system in Catalina.


Screenshot 2020-02-25 at 12.29.09 AM.png